Reviews for Roseville, CA General Surgeon Ryan C. Chen, M.D., F.A.C.S.

Browse Patient Testimonials

We know that placing your health in the hands of the right general surgeon is extremely important to you and your loved ones. At Sierra Pacific Surgical, our team of trusted board-certified and board-eligible general surgeons prioritize the safety and wellness of our patients above all else. We are proud to provide personalized care for individuals throughout Carmichael, Rancho Cordova, Folsom, Roseville, and Sacramento, CA and perform a wide range of advanced and minimally invasive surgeries with the highest level of skill and compassion. Over the years, we have received countless reviews and testimonials from patients who have entrusted their health to our team. We invite you to browse this feedback and learn more about what you can expect as a patient of Sierra Pacific Surgical.

Filter19 Reviews  
5.0
DAPI
Review from D.C.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Jul 02, 2022

I wanted to say something about Hannah in the office. I needed something from my medical record on a Friday afternoon, Fourth of July weekend. She didn’t put me off, she took care of it right away and it took up a great deal of her time. She is a true care giver and puts the patient first as does Dr. Chen. I would recommend him without reservation. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 10, 2022

Dr. Chen was great. Very professional, high level of communication and, most importantly, a fantastic surgeon. Despite the mess he had to work with (me), he was able to do a perfect surgery and give me the best case scenario outcome with minimal recovery time. I hope you don’t ever have to go see him, but if you need to, he’s your man. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.P.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 09, 2022

I was able to be seen for a consult within days of being referred. Within a couple of weeks surgery was scheduled. Dr. Chen is a consummate professional as are the front and back office staff at Sierra Pacific Surgical. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.A.  |  Source: Google  |  Jun 08, 2022

I had to go to emergency for a complication that arose due to previous surgery by another hospital. Dr. Chen attended to me there and then for a follow-up appointment at the Sierra Surgical Center. He was very kind, focused, took his time and explained everything thoroughly. I highly recommend him! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.W.  |  Source: Google  |  May 09, 2022

Dr. Chen performed umbilical hernia surgery. He is a great doctor. The staff at both offices Roseville and Folsom are amazing. I've never experienced such thorough care and prompt attention to all of my needs. Thank you Sierra Pacific Surgical More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 19, 2022

Was diagnosed with breast cancer and referred to Dr. Ryan Chen with SPS group. Outstanding service from scheduling appts and having to change them due to the Caldor Fire, all in person contacts with staff were always positive and informative. Dr. Chen was clear in expectations of myself as his patient as well as his service to me. So very grateful for this group of professionals. Literally saved my life! God Bless them all. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.M.  |  Source: Google  |  Jan 15, 2022

Was diagnosed with breast cancer and referred to Dr. Ryan Chen with SPS group. Outstanding service from scheduling appts and having to change them due to the Caldor Fire, all in person contacts with staff were always positive and informative. Dr. Chen was clear in expectations of myself as his patient as well as his service to me. So very grateful for this group of professionals. Literally saved my life! God Bless them all. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jul 06, 2021

Dr. Robertson performed an emergency cholecystectomy about two weeks ago. I cannot thank him enough for operating on me and removing my kaput gallbladder and ginormous gallstone.  Despite the large size of the gallstone, the surgery was done laparoscopically reducing the overall recovery time.  For that, I am extremely grateful.  I’m sure it took experience and talent to remove such a huge stone through a smaller incision compared to a traditional open incision (with a much longer recovery time).  Dr. Robertson sufficiently explained the surgery to my husband and me.  Post-surgery, he visited me in my hospital room to check on me.  I saw Dr. Chen once, briefly, the day after surgery when he checked the incisions.  I felt very cared for.  My recovery is going just as Dr. Robertson explained.  His instructions and recommendations were clear, and he invited me to call the office if I have questions in the future.  Great bedside manner, professional, caring.  I found his office staff to be kind, friendly and polite.  Highly recommend. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from D.D.  |  Source: Google  |  May 20, 2021

Good staff and Dr. CHEN WAS VERY NICE AND GAVE ME THE ANSWERS TO HELP ME RECOVER FROM MY SURGERY. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from C.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  May 04, 2021

I highly recommend Dr. Chen. He took the time to explain the procedure and made sure I had  my questions answered. He is very easy to talk to and his staff  is very nice. I was very nervous the day of my surgery, but again after talking with him he made me feel at ease. I had my follow up appointment last week and everything went well. Thank you Dr. Chen! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Mar 19, 2021

If you’re looking for a Dr to do your surgery look no further then Dr Chen Dr Chen takes the time to talk to not at you. Dr Chen care’s about you and wants the best for you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from M.S.  |  Source: Google  |  Dec 20, 2020

If you’re looking for a Dr to do your surgery look no further then Dr Chen Dr Chen takes the time to talk to not at you. Dr Chen care’s about you and wants the best for you. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.L.  |  Source: Google  |  Nov 20, 2020

I came to the Mercy Folsom ER with severe abdominal pain and a CT scan showed that I had a blockage in my small intestines and needed an urgent consult with the surgeon on-call. It was after 2:00 a.m., and Dr. Chen came to the hospital immediately and saw that I needed emergency surgery. He worked quickly to make sure that I was taken right in to the O.R. He explained the seriousness of the situation, answering all of my questions and showing kindness and compassion, knowing that I was scared and in a lot of pain. I would recommend Dr. Chen without any hesitation to anyone looking for an excellent surgeon. Because of his quick response and skill in surgery , I had an ideal outcome. I’m so grateful to Dr. Chen for taking such good care of me! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from T.K.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Oct 01, 2020

Dr. Chen was called into the Mercy Folsom E.R. in the middle of the night when I was being admitted for a blockage in my small intestines. A CT Scan showed that emergency surgery would be necessary and Dr. Chen came to the hospital immediately and got me into surgery as quickly as possible. I had never met him before and I was scared and in a great deal of pain. Dr. Chen explained what was happening and showed so much care and compassion. I highly recommend Dr. Chen, and I feel so fortunate that he happened to be on-call that night. Because he is such a good surgeon, my difficult surgery had an excellent outcome and no complications. Besides his surgical skills, he’s just a really nice guy with a great bedside manner. More

3.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Sep 13, 2020

Staff was very nice. Dr. Chen Presented nice and knowledgeable however After surgery I was left with a lump in my abdomen of which he could not explain. He Got quiet when I asked. Ordered a CT scan and never heard from him after that. My primary Was shocked when he saw my stomach. I don’t think I will return to Dr. Chen should I require another surgery in the future. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.W.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Jun 09, 2020

I was referred to Sierra Pacific Surgery and got the first available appointment for a pre-op for my ailing gallbladder. I am so pleased that Dr Ryan Chen was able to see me and subsequently skillfully remove the gallbladder using laparoscopic surgery.  Lucky me!  Though the surgery was not routine I’m told, it was very successful. I have had a number issues requiring surgery as I am now called a "vintage" guy, but never one with the great care as provided by DrChen.  Dr. Chen went the extra mile to get answers to see that I received the proper care.  I highly recommend him. I feel great! More

5.0
DAPI
Review from R.  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  May 31, 2020

Had gallbladder surgery about 10 days ago that was highly successful. Dr. Chen has a most calming demeanor that exudes confidence. He constantly asked if I had any questions and was always a good listener. I am very pleased that he was my surgeon and I highly recommend him. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from Anonymous  |  Source: Healthgrades  |  Mar 24, 2020

My husband recently developed an intestinal perforation, it was a complicated case with several additional challenges. Dr. Chen was his surgeon, and our experience with his care was phenomenal. Dr. Chen answered every question, visited my husband's hospital room daily, and provided all-around excellent care. My husband's recovery from surgery has been excellent, we have Dr. Chen to thank for such a great outcome. More

5.0
DAPI
Review from S.A.  |  Source: Yelp  |  Mar 24, 2020

My husband recently developed an intestinal perforation,  it was a complicated case with several additional challenges.  Dr. Chen was his surgeon,  and our experience with his care was phenomenal.  Dr. Chen answered every question,  visited my husband’s hospital room daily,  and provided all-around excellent care.  My husband’s recovery from surgery has been excellent,  we have Dr. Chen to thank for such a great outcome. More

*Individual results are not guaranteed and may vary from person to person. Images may contain models.